The Anitoch Center opened in 1956 and was the oldest mall in the Kansas City area before being completly reconstructed as what is now called Antioch Crossing. The Antioch Center was an enclosed mall in the northern part of Kansas City, Missouri, south of Gladstone, MO.
Originally, the mall opened as an open-air center in 1956 with two levels of 80 stores and in 1974, Sears opened. The mall was fully enclosed in 1978 with additional renovations. Macy's (Kansas City Division) opened a store and was converted to Dillard's in 1986 and then became Burlington Coat Factory in 1992.
Many other anchor stores filled the center, like Levitz Furniture, a home improvement center, and the first Showbiz Pizza Place.
By the 1990's, the mall hit a downward spiral, eventually, the only stores where the anchors, Sears, and Burlington Coat Factory.
In Late 2004, plans were announced to demolish most of the mall, and rebuild it as a 450,000 square foot open-air, mixed use complex. This never happend because of economic issues, this entire mall was closed off for several years until finally being demolished in January 2012.
In 2014, the center was renamed Antioch Crossing, and redevelopment consists of building a new Walmart Neighborhood Market and Vintage Stock used book store, and keeping the Sears and Burlington Coat Factory.
Here are some pictures of what was left from July 2014:
Thank you for reading.